LibGuides: Classical Studies: Classics Resources

Classics Call Numbers

To find a specific book in the library, write down the entire call number and note the location (stacks, reference, etc.) and look for the book. Ask at the Navigation Desk if you need help!

AUP Library books are organized by Dewey Decimal Numbers - here are the basic Classics call numbers:

100 Philosophy
470 Latin & Italic languages
480 Classical & modern Greek languages
870 Latin & Italic literatures
880 Classical & modern Greek literatures

Classics Journals

Browse a list of Journal titles

If you do not find the journal you are looking for on this page.

American Journal of Archaeology
"one of the world’s most distinguished and widely distributed peer-reviewed archaeological journals. "
Arethusa
"This distinguished journal is known for publishing original literary and cultural studies of the ancient world that combine contemporary theoretical perspectives with traditional approaches to literary and material evidence."
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
" publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). "
EZB list of journals by subject
List of journals including whether or not they are freely available. Includes Classical Studies, Archaeology and History.

Classics Books

Brill's New Pauly by Manfred Landfester (Editor); Hubert Cancik; Helmuth Schneider
ISBN: 9004194150
"the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world."

Brill - Religions in the Graeco-Roman World Online
Access 240 titles published by Brill between 1961 and 2020.
Cambridge Companions - Literature, Classics and Philosophy
"Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods."
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum
Ancient Latin texts
De Gruyter - Classical and Ancient Near Eastern Studies
Get access to 1291 titles
.The access funded by the Licences Nationales project.

Dictionnaire des Philosophes antiques online by R. Goulet, CNRS Editions
ISBN: 9782503585734
The Dictionnaire des philosophes antiques is devoted to philosophers and important witnesses of the Greek and Roman philosophical tradition, from the Presocratics to the late Neoplatonists of the sixth century. The articles, prepared by French and foreign scholars, make use not only of literary sources, but also of inscriptions and papyri. In total, 236 editors from 20 different countries have contributed to this unique and large-scale enterprise, which started its first volume in 1989 and consists of seven volumes – including a fifth volume in two parts – and a supplement.

Loeb Classical Library
"More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease."
"The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers"
ORB Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
Many books written by medievalists.

Oxford Classical Dictionary by Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor); Esther Eidinow
ISBN: 9780199545568
"Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, it covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology."

Perseus Digital Library
"Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world"
PHI Classical Latin Texts
"This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity."
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Collection of Greek literature.

Websites of Interest

Geoffrey Steadman
Greek and Latin texts with facing vocabulary and commentary. Free digital files for the textbook series written by Geoffrey Steadman.
Gnomon Online
"contains an index to works on Classical Philology, Ancient History, and Archaeology."
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) OPEN ACCESS VERSION
"The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is the most authoritative dictionary of ancient Latin. It is the only lexicon to cover all surviving Latin texts from the earliest times down to AD 600."

Can't find an item? Need Help?

If we don't have an article you need, order it! If unsure, use "Browse a List of Journal Titles" to see if we have the full text in another database. If not order it from us using Interlibrary Loan.

If we don't have a book you need, we may be able to borrow it from another library for you. Look it up in OneSearch first to see if it might be in an electronic collection. If we don't have it, order it from us using Interlibrary Loan.

If you need help in finding what you need, please ask for Research Help. An AUP librarian may be able to find what you need. We are happy to help you!

Classics Databases

Année philologique This link opens in a new window

Répertoire des sources philosophiques antiques This link opens in a new window

More Classical Studies Databases

Today's Hours

Classical Studies