LibGuides: Film Studies: Film Studies Resources

Streaming videos

Online Films/Documentaries
Access to Kanopy, Academic Video Online Premier, and other collections with streaming videos.

For Online Screening

DVD - Viewing Online

Film Studies Call Numbers

To find a specific book in the library, write down the entire call number and note the location (stacks, reference, etc.) and look for the book. Ask at the Navigation Desk if you need help!

AUP Library books are organized by Dewey Decimal Numbers - here are the basic Film Studies call numbers:

778 Fields & kinds of photography
790 Recreational & performing arts
791 Public performances
792 Stage presentations

Don't forget to look at the films themselves. See the Academic Film Collection page for more details

Browse a List of Films

A B C D E F G

H I J K L M N

O P Q R S T U

V W X Y Z 0 1

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Web sites of interest

28 Films for Black History Month
"Our chief film critics have chosen essential movies from the 20th century that convey the larger history of black Americans in cinema."
American Film Institute
An American Institute that preserves and restores films. Includes lists of 'top' favorites in different genres.
British Film Institute
A mix of free and paid services. There is much information about actors, films, etc. available for free.
Centre Audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir
The Center’s primary mission continues its creators’ aims: disseminate, preserve and add to the very rich audio-visual documents, mainly composed of videos involving the history of women, their battles and their creations.
CineFiles: University of California, Berkeley Art Museum & Pacific Film Archive
"contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles,
more...less...
and other documents from the PFA Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present. Citations are available for all documents, and page images are available for documents with copyright clearance. New titles and document images are added daily."
Cinémathèque Française
This institution was conceived to conserve, restore and show films. There is information and there is a videothèque in Paris where films can be viewed.
European Film Gateway - EFG
The EFG Portal gives you quick access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.
Films for Action
Films for Action "provide citizens with the information and perspectives essential to creating a more just, sustainable, and democratic society."
UNESCO Audiovisual archives
The photo and audiovisual archives consist of analogue and digital records dating from 1945 up until the present day.
Women Film Pioneers Project - WFPP
"The Women Film Pioneers Project (WFPP) is a freely accessible, collaborative online database that showcases the hundreds of women who worked behind-the-scenes in the silent film industry as directors, producers, editors, and more. "

Local Libraries of Interest

Libraries specializing in Film Studies
Bibliothèque du Film (BiFi)
Bibliothèque François Truffaut

Search tips

To find books and articles on film studies, you can search in Primo OneSearch using the name of a director, genre, film title and more. You can limit to books or journals - review articles - scholarly articles. If searching more general information, use synonyms - for example, film, cinema, movies.

If you need help in finding what you need, please ask for Research Help. An AUP librarian may be able to find what you need. We are happy to help you!

Film Studies Journals

Browse a list of Journal titles

If you do not find the journal you are looking for on this page.

Black Camera
"Black Camera is devoted to the study and documentation of the black cinematic experience and is the only scholarly film journal of its kind in the United States. It regularly features essays and interviews that engage film in social as well as political distribution, and production of film in local, regional, national, and transnational settings and environments."
Camera Obscura
"Camera Obscura provides a forum for scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies."
Cinema Journal
"Cinema Journal is sponsored by the Society for Cinema and Media Studies and represents recent scholarship by SCMS members."
Film Quarterly
"Film Quarterly [...] advance(s) criticism, analysis, and reporting on social justice documentary and cinema practice"

Free journals

Alphaville Journal of Film and Screen Media
Alphaville is a fully peer-reviewed online journal - open access
Antenna Journal of Nature in Visual Culture
international, peer-reviewed, academic journal
Bright Lights Film Journal
"The commitment to wide-ranging, literate, fun, progressive articles on any subject related to film [...}"
Film Criticism
"Film Criticism is a peer-reviewed, online publication whose aim is to bring together scholarship in the field of cinema and media studies in order to present the finest work in this area, foregrounding textual criticism as a primary value."
Film-Philosophy
Fully Open Access
Dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy
Archives 1997-2015
Films in Review
"This journal started in 1950 as a print film review journal and continues today on the internet. The archives are available online."
Journal of Religion and Film
"The Journal of Religion & Film is a peer reviewed journal which is committed to the study of connections between the medium of film and the phenomena of religion, however those are defined."
Lantern
Search platform for the Media History Digital Library. There are about 2 million documents as of 2018. These magazines cover film, broadcasting and recorded sound.
Mediascape UCLA's Journal of Cinema and Media Studies
"Our aim is to create a forum which takes an interdisciplinary approach to visual cultural studies. "
MOVIE - a journal of film criticism
"refereed publication whose aim is to create a forum for the range of analysis, debate and discussion...
committed to publishing rigorous but accessible critical writing..We also welcome articles that illuminate concepts, analytical methods and questions in film aesthetics that are of significance to film criticism."
"Movie: A Journal of Film Criticism is a joint venture between the Universities of Warwick, Reading, and Oxford."
Reverse Shot
Reverse Shot is a publication of the Museum of the Moving Image.
Scenario
"SCENARIO is a bilingual (English–German), fully peer-reviewed online journal in the area of performative teaching, learning, research."
Scope an online journal of film studies
Last issue 2014
Wide Screen
"Wide Screen is a peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the study of cinema, television and new media. "

Film Studies Books

International Directory of Films and Filmmakers by Tom Pendergast; Sara Pendergast
ISBN: 155862533X
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
"Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists"
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Barry Keith Grant
ISBN: 0028657918
Publication Date: 2006-12-15
"This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history."

Reference

Credo Reference
Multiple encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.
Oxford Reference Online
Excellent resource for encyclopedias, dictionaries

MLA 8th edition citations for Film

Can't find an item? Need Help?

If we don't have an article you need, order it! If unsure, use "Browse a List of Journal Titles" to see if we have the full text in another database. If not order it from us using Interlibrary Loan.

If we don't have a book you need, we may be able to borrow it from another library for you. Look it up in OneSearch first to see if it might be in an electronic collection. If we don't have it, order it from us using Interlibrary Loan.

If you need help in finding what you need, please ask for Research Help. An AUP librarian may be able to find what you need. We are happy to help you!

Film Studies Databases

Below are databases that will give you access to articles and ebooks about Film Studies.

JSTOR Performing Arts

Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window
"The Media History Digital Library is a free online resource featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. We proud to be part of the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research at the the University of Wisconsin-Madison."